Toronto Maple Leafs ahead Auston Matthews collects Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award

TAMPA, Fla. – Toronto Maple Leafs star ahead Auston Matthews collected the Hart Trophy because the NHL’s most beneficial participant and the Ted Lindsay Award because the NHLPA’s most excellent participant on the NHL Awards on Tuesday night time.

Matthews, 24, scored 60 targets, main the NHL for the second straight season. He set a Maple Leafs franchise document and the single-season document for many targets by an American-born participant. He led the NHL in even-strength targets (44), targets per sport (0.82) and photographs (348). He was tied for sixth in factors with 106 – the very best whole of his profession.

“I feel it is a great honor to put on the blue and white, signify town of Toronto and put on the Maple Leaf each night time,” he stated. “Each time you get your identify etched in historical past, with a corporation like that, it is one thing I do not take with no consideration.”

Matthews earned 119 first-place votes for the Hart Trophy, which is voted on by the Skilled Hockey Writers Affiliation (PHWA). Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers was second within the voting whereas New York Rangers goalie Igor Shesterkin was third. Matthews was the primary Maple Leafs participant to win the NHLPA’s most excellent participant award, which is voted on by the gamers and was first handed out in 1971. McDavid and Nashville Predators defenseman Roman Josi have been the runners-up for the Ted Lindsay. Matthews is the second American-born participant to win the award, together with Chicago Blackhawks star Patrick Kane in 2015-16.

“I am not going to mislead you, it feels actually good. It is particular to have my household right here with me. There are a number of nice gamers in that room,” Matthews stated.

The closest vote of the night time was for the Norris Trophy, given to the NHL’s greatest defenseman by the PHWA. Colorado Avalanche defenseman Cale Makar gained his first Norris with 1,631 factors within the voting, with 92 first-place votes. Josi was second (1,606) with extra first-place votes than Makar (98). The factors allocation on the poll, which ranks the highest 5 selections, is 10-7-5-3-1. Makar was named on 195 ballots, whereas Josi was named on 194.

Tampa Bay Lightning defenseman Victor Hedman was third for the Norris.

Each Hedman and Makar will play in Sport 4 of the Stanley Cup Remaining on Wednesday night time.

. I really feel like as soon as it is all stated and performed, you’ll be able to get pleasure from (the award). However for me proper now, I’ve already kinda forgot about it. It’s important to transfer on. Clearly, it is bizarre circumstances with (the awards) being introduced earlier than the season’s over, “Makar stated. “As a group, we put ourselves in a terrific spot proper now. We simply have to capitalize on that.”

Shesterkin gained the Vezina Trophy because the League’s high goaltender, which is voted on by the NHL’s common managers. The opposite finalists have been runner-up selections Jacob Markstrom of the Calgary Flames and Juuse Saros of the Nashville Predators.

“It means lots for me,” stated Shesterkin, who accomplished his third NHL season. “I did not give it some thought after I got here to the NHL. However typically you suppose possibly I’ve an opportunity. Within the first preseason sport towards the Islanders, I did not play. One small little one [fan] confirmed me an image with myself and it stated ‘future Vezina Trophy winner.’ I feel, ‘why not?’ We have now an excellent group for that. “

Shesterkin led the NHL with a 2.07 goals-against common and a .935 save share in 53 video games, main the Rangers to 110 regular-season factors, the third-highest whole in franchise historical past. He was a first-time Vezina nominee and joined Henrik Lundqvist and John Vanbiesbrouck as Rangers who gained the Vezina for the reason that present standards for the award was set in 1981-82.

Some anticipated he could possibly be an unanimous selection, however Carolina’s Fredrik Andersen, Tampa Bay goalie Andrei Vasilevskiy and the New York Islanders’ Ilya Sorokin additionally had first-place votes.

Detroit Pink Wings defenseman Moritz Seider gained the Calder Memorial Trophy for rookie of the yr, as voted on by the PHWA. He performed all 82 video games for the Pink Wings and averaged 23:02 in ice time per sport, tops amongst rookies. He led all rookie defensemen in factors (50), the third-highest for a first-year blueliner within the final 30 years. He led all rookies in assists (43) and power-play factors (21).

Seider earned an enormous giggle on the Awards when he talked about his mother and father weren’t in attendance as a result of they’d simply gotten again from trip in Croatia.

“They scheduled their trip and there have been simply not any extra days to flee from residence. They positively watched,” he stated. “Very proud to carry one thing again (for them).”

Seider collected 170 first-place votes. Trevor Zegras, the Anaheim Geese ahead who created a number of highlight-reel targets this season, was second with 15 first-place votes. Toronto Maple Leafs rookie Michael Buntingwho was notable for being 26 years outdated, was third within the voting.

Julien BriseBois of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Chris Drury of the New York Rangers and Joe Sakic of the Colorado Avalanche are the three finalists for the 2021-22 Jim Gregory Common Supervisor of the Yr Award. The winner shall be introduced on the NHL Draft subsequent month in Montreal.

The NHL Awards have been held at Armature Works in Tampa on the off day between Video games 3 and 4 of the Stanley Cup Remaining. The league beforehand introduced a number of awards in the course of the playoffs: Mark Messier NHL Management Award: Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings; Jack Adams Award: Daryl Sutter, Calgary Flames; Invoice Masterton Memorial Trophy: Carey Value, Montreal Canadiens; Willie O’Ree Group Hero Award: Noel Acton of Baltimore, Md. Frank J. Selke Trophy for greatest defensive ahead: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins; Girl Byng Memorial Trophy for many gentlemanly participant: Kyle Connor, Winnipeg Jets; King Clancy Memorial Trophy for neighborhood service: PC SubbanNew Jersey Devils.


Leave a Comment